The Ireland Korfball Association would like to thank International Korfball Tournament Stadskanaal’74 for hosting another amazing tournament, with a special thanks to Atte van Haastrecht. We were very thankful to the invited back this year. We we also like to thank the officials, referees and everyone else who was involved in the organsiation of the tournament. We were especially thankful to our wonderful host families who looked after us all so well. Also well done and thank you to all the teams that participated. Korfball Argentina Korfball Armenia Indonesia Korfball Community TuS Wesseling – Korfball Welsh Korfball – Pêl-Corff Cymrul 日本コーフボール協会 (JAPAN KORFBALL ASSOCIATION)

The tournament started off with a tough match against the home team Stadskannal ‘74. However, Ireland had their first win with the final score being 11 -10.

The second match of the day was against Indonesia. This was a solid win for Ireland, 12 – 2, were each player played well. Our next game was against Misiones Argentina. The pressure was on because we needed to win this match to get into the final. The final score was 9-2. After this we rested up and watched a cracking match against TuS Wesseling and Wales which would determine our opponents.

As was much expected we faced Wales in the final. After Ireland’s defeat to Wales in France earlier this year, which meant we have not qualified for the Euros in 2018 as of yet, we were bursting with adrenaline and eager to show Wales what we are made of. It was an incredibly though game through out. We were delighted to have lots of supporters cheering us on throughout. In the last second of the game Wales was awarded a penalty which meant that we drew. That meant it was penalty time. Ireland was calm and cool under the pressure. As a team we all played with our Irish spirit and we were victorious.

What a great tournament and some really exciting and close matches! The 1st-2nd, 3rd -4th and 5th-6th play off all ended in penalties! The final results are as below:
1. Ireland
2. Wales
3. TuS Wesseling
4. Stadskanaal’74
5. KC Tokyo
6. Misones Argentina
7. Armenia
8. Indonesia

Once again thank you to everyone that was involved of the running of the tournament. We hope to see you all in 2017 to retain of title.

Go raibh maith agat!
(Thank you!)

Subscribe Our Monthly Newsletter