The following squad has been selected to represent Ireland at the upcoming European Korfball Championships:


  1. Emma DENTON (KV)
  2. Amy FREEAR (Oxford University)
  3. Hannah GOODRIDGE (VC) (Trojans)
  4. Abby GOLDING (Nomads)
  5. Charley LEWIS (Birmingham University)
  6. Alicia NOLAN (Bearsted)
  7. Sarah PAINE (Supernova)
  8. Lizzie TIGHE (Bristol Thunder/Bristol University)


  1. Shay CONROY (C) (Nic)
  2. Terry FORDE (Nomads)
  3. Sam GALVIN (Cambridge University)
  4. Stewart McCONVERY (Birmingham City)
  5. James NORMAN (Bearsted)
  6. Dinos TRITSAROLIS (Nomads)
  7. Sam WARD (Bristol Thunder)
  8. Ashley YATES (Birmingham City)

The management team is:

  • Head Coach: Kees Verhoeven (PKC)
  • Assistant Coach: Rinaldo Molenaar (PKC)
  • Team Managers: Claire Woodroffe (Oxford City) & Nora Goodridge (Trojans)
  • Physiotherapist: Arie van Loon (Kinderdijk)
  • Assistant Physiotherapist: Amy Sherston-Baker (Bearsted)

Five players – Amy Freear, Alicia Nolan, Charley Lewis, Sam Ward and Ashley Yates – will make their international debuts this competition. Shay Conroy takes up the helm once again to lead the squad as Captain, supported by Hannah Goodridge as Vice Captain.

The Championships are being held 13-21 October 2018 in Friesland, Netherlands. Ireland will first face an exciting group stage with matches against France, Slovakia and Turkey.

For more information on the European Korfball Championships, please refer to the IKF website. 


Subscribe Our Monthly Newsletter